Tags

, , , , , , , ,


These past couple of weeks have been filled with stress in all shapes and sizes. Stress about school ending, stress about finding a job, stress about completing the Aliyah process, stress about stressing. Enough.

I made a decision during these couple of weeks that my “real life” hasn’t started yet. When I land in Ben Gurion airport Aug 1, a complete olah hadasha (new immigrant), with a job and an apartment and commitments, then my life will be real. Until then, I am living in a dream where nothing matters and nothing has consequences. The time between leaving on June 28th and returning August 1st, I will spend getting into the right frame of mind to start the rest of my life. Now, I know what you’re thinking: sounds good, but can you do it? Well, it’s the plan.

In the spirit of not living a real life until then, I received an offer last night that I would normally refuse…

I met a man last night. He’s nice. He’s attractive. He’s soft spoken. He’s a little pale for my taste, but I won’t hold that against him. We went out for a drink and spent the night talking and laughing. It was going so well, I commented that we should make the most out of the next 6 days we have together. Suddenly, a light went on over his head. He proceeded to ask me to keep an open mind and to hear him out completely with what he was about to say. “We definitely should make the most of this time together. I want to do something I’ve never done before. Move in with me for three days?

Needless to say, I was stunned. We are basically strangers and he is asking me to move into his apartment for three days. He said this is an idea from some movie (“Happy Thank you Something or Another”) where a man meets a girl and he has her move in for three days right away as a “trial period” and, of course, in the end they are madly in love and live happily ever after. “I’ve never done anything like this before,” Allen said. “Me neither,” I replied. “But, I really want you to. I’ll get you a spare key and you will live here for three days. Let’s do it.” And you know what? I agreed.

I spent the night last night, although we didn’t have sex it was so nice to sleep next to someone again. I was just talking to my best friend the other night about how much I miss sleeping next to someone. Her words were in my head all night: “hopefully the next person will be real and not just to fill the void.” Well, there is nothing real about this situation. It’s a spontaneous, off the cuff, random, fantasy situation that has an expiration date. 3 days.

And in these 3 days, I have things to do! I have meetings, job interviews, an end of year “do” (whatever that means) at my professor’s house, etc. But, at the end of the day, I’ll go to his apartment instead of mine. And I must admit that his apartment is very nice. I’m not telling my mom or my sister, mainly because they will think I am completely insane and I know they will worry about me. I’ll tell them after the fact as a funny anecdote that demonstrates the differences between men in the US and men in Israel. This would not happen to me in the US. This is from a movie (literally) and it’s about to become my real life.

I will get the keys tonight. And I will be sure to update this every day for the next three days. It should be quite an experiment!

