Tags

, , , , , , , ,


I have to say it, of all the summers that I’ve had off to do whatever I want with, this summer is by far the lamest. summer

Don’t misunderstand me. It’s still awesome to have two months off where I continue to get paid and can sleep until 11AM everyday without consequence. But, this summer there is one thing hanging over my head that I just can’t seem to shake: my thesis.

Yes, folks, that’s right. It’s still not complete. Granted, I’ve really been working on it nose-to-the-grindstone style these past couple weeks. Going to the library, going to cafes, writing between 2-7 pages a day. I’m making headway, but it’s not headway-ing fast enough to make me happy. I know I have no one to blame but myself, but what can I say? Self-loathing comes naturally sometimes.

Here’s the vicious cycle: For the past three weeks of summer, I’ve been forcing myself to go to the library as soon as I wake up (11:30AM) and then, fighting the heat of the day to get back home, usually around 1 or 2PM because that’s when I get hungry. The hour and a half- two hours I spend at the library are sometimes very productive, usually spent fighting with the library WIFI, and not usually very prolific. Then, I leave in the heat of the day. Waiting for the bus, being on the bus, then walking to my apartment zaps me of all my energy and I arrive at home hungry, hot, and now in need of a nap. I eat, I watch some TV to relax, I nap, and before I know it, it’s 6PM and the day is gone. Shit.

thesisLast night, I took a hard look at my broken system and made a decision. Instead of fighting the heat of the day and interrupting my work time to go eat, I’m just going to delay my start time until later. 4PM, maybe 5PM when the temperature is not so so hot outside and I’ve had most of the day to get done what I needed to and I can write freely at a cafe until 10 or 11PM. So that’s what I did last night. I started at 5PM at a cafe near my apartment and, you know what? I turned 7 pages of results into 12 pages of results in 2 hours. I think I’m on to something.

I know I’ve set deadline goals for my thesis before, but this time it’s really real (that’s right, I’m a teacher who uses phrases like “really real”). I need to be finished by August 13th because my sister is arriving from the US for a visit on August 14. Finished means revised, edited, and sent to my advisers for their editing. When my sister leaves on August 24th, I only have two days to recoup before work starts again for the year and I absolutely DO NOT want to spend my last two days of summer vacation scrambling to finish my thesis when there are other pressing things to do (see: go to the beach).

Here we go. 22 days to go. I have a small bit of the Results section, the Analysis section, and the Conclusion left to write, then I need to edit and revise. I’ve written weirder, more complicated, less interesting things of about the same length that is left to write in less time. Yalla. Bring it on.

