Tags

, , , , , , , ,


My parents were supposed to come here, to Israel, to visit me. My parents have never been here before. It was supposed to be a trip of a lifetime for them, one which they have been saving towards for the last 2 years or so. Now, because of complications with my dad’s health, they aren’t coming anymore.

It is a miracle my dad is still alive today, considering where the doctor said he’d be back in May. I’m grateful for this everyday. But, truthfully, I made my peace with him dying about 7 months ago and that was a difficult process for me, if you recall (See: my post called Daddy’s Little Girl).

Well, now that my parents can no longer come here, I’m going back to the US for a short visit. Again. Everyone knows just how much I love that trip. Sigh. 13 hours of flying. Heavy food. No place private to sleep. Bitchy family members. Chain restaurants. Walmart. Americans. Yay.

The thing I am the most concerned about though, is seeing my dad again and feeling that frustration that I just flew half-way around the world to spend time with him, and all he wants to do is sit in the bedroom in his bathrobe and sleep in the chair. I don’t want to be mad at him again. I don’t want to feel like I went all the way over there and he didn’t want to really spend time with me. He said he wants me to come. That’s the reason I’m going.

My sister told me not to go. She’s “worried” about me and how I’ll be emotionally being there. She’s so full of shit.

I am looking forward to two things: 1) seeing my parents and 2) shopping. Seriously, I’m going to return to the homeland with a whole new winter wardrobe.

Also, this trip will be a bit different than usual. I’ll only be spending 3 days in NC with the family, then I’ll be going to NYC to spend 3 days with my best friend (who is getting married in March) before I fly back home. I’m excited to see Laura too, no doubt. But then, I’ll be back the day before New Year’s Eve, and I’ll have another week of vacation before I have to go back to work after the holiday.

So, a week from tomorrow, it’s wheels up and I’m sure there will be plenty to talk about!

