Tags

, , , , , , ,


I haven’t heard from Todd since Monday. While remarking on that may seem like it is upsetting to me, it’s actually more astonishing than anything else. Astonishing not because I think I’m the perfect woman and anyone who doesn’t want to date me is stupid. Astonishing because he put out all the signs and signals that it was going to be me that was going to need to disappear from him. And, actually, maybe I have! Here’s what happened:

Last weekend it was Taryn’s birthday weekend. Todd and I stopped by her party on Saturday night, where we did not stay long. From there, we went to his place and I slept over. Sunday morning, I was cold and tired and I left pretty early to start my week.

Sunday night, I went out to dinner for Taryn’s birthday. Dinner was long and expensive but at the end of the night, I had gotten myself locked out of my apartment due to a scheduled power outage. Basically, there was a sign on the door to my building that said the power would be out from 11pm to 5am. I stood in the cold, reading this sign at 12:08am.

When I realized I wouldn’t be sleeping in my own bed that night, I started to panic. It was freezing cold out, I was exhausted, and I had work the next day and wake up at 6am, which was a mere 6 hours away. For a brief moment I contemplated sitting on the stoop and waiting for someone to come out of the building and open the door. But have you ever dealt with 7 year olds on less than 8 hours sleep? It’s not fun. I saw myself sitting on he stoop for 5 hours in the cold until the power was turned back on, and immediately began to make phone calls.

I called Taryn. I called Kelly. I called Todd. No answer from the three of them. In a panic, I started making more phone calls. Finally, someone answered and agreed to let me crash at his place. I jumped in a cab, arrived at my friend’s apartment, got into bed and passed out. Now it was almost 1:30am.

The next day, Todd messaged me. Here’s how that went:

Todd: hahaha I saw you called while I was sleeping deeply. You were up late! πŸ˜‰
Me: actually, I was locked out of my apartment at 12am and had to scramble to find somewhere to sleep. Not fun 😦
Todd: oh shit :/ I didn’t know. What did you do?
Me: I called everyone I could think of and finally someone answered and let me crash at his place πŸ™‚ but I got there at 1am then had to wake up at 6 to come to work. I’m tired 😦
Todd: phewww…mazal! Hmmm…I have a feeling you’re gonna finish your job and go to sleep straight after? πŸ˜‰
Me: yes. My bed is already calling my name πŸ™‚ gotta go teach. Talk to you later! πŸ™‚
Todd: have fun! πŸ™‚

This was the last conversation we had. Who is blowing off who? It feels like his responsibility to call me because it’s only been three dates. Then again, I don’t really want him to call because I don’t know what I’d say. He’s nice but I doubt very much that he’s it.

So, toda (thank you), Todd…for nothing.

