Tags

, , , , ,


Last weekend, a man asked for me number at the dog park. The weather was perfect and everyone was in their light spring clothes, sunglasses, and high spirits. Needless to say, Jessie and I were no exception to this.

When this guy stopped us and struck up a conversation on my way out of the park, I was surprised. It’s been ages since someone new has hit on me, let alone asked for my number. And the few first dates I’ve forced myself to go on lately (to cure myself of the last failed attempt at something real) have been just awful. But, here was Guy chatting me up at the gate of the dogpark: wide smile, kind eyes, very tall, and clearly fit. We talked for a few minutes and then he directly asked me if I had a boyfriend. Upon hearing that I am single, he asked for my number and then we parted ways.

He called on Monday, just as I was starting to wonder if he was the exception to the “Israeli men always call” rule. Not 5 minutes into the conversation he was asking me if I wanted to go out with him that evening.

Sure, why not? So, what that it was short notice? The rest of my week was going to be very busy and I knew it, so I jumped at the opportunity to get to know him better.

We went out and talked nonstop for hours. Then we left the bar and went back to his place, with the understanding that he was to have no expectations. We continued to talk, we smoked, and then we spent an hour making-out on the sofa like teenagers: fully dressed, hearts pounding, adrenaline pumping.

Then I left. After the best 4-hour date in recent history, I could basically float home.

That was Monday. Today is Saturday and even though we chatted a bit and had a failed attempt at last minute plans on Wednesday, I’m hopeful that maybe this weekend we’ll be able to connect again.

Guy is smart, kind, funny, charming, and very attractive. If this doesn’t work out, at least he has restored my faith in finding a man with all these qualities. I am lucky that he popped into my life just as I was beginning to doubt the possibility of such people existing.

Even though the weather took a turn for the worst and it was actually snowing here in the holyland yesterday, spring is definitely coming and with spring comes new beginnings, new hopes, and new possibilities. All good things to look forward to! And, as always, keep your fingers crossed for me with Guy!

